The website of the Lord-Lieutenant of West Sussex

The Royal Family

Social media links

Her Majesty The Queen

The British Monarchy

To search the site, type criteria above & press ENTER

The High Sheriffs' Association

The High Sheriffs' Association of England and Wales was established in 1971 to represent the interests of and give assistance to High Sheriffs in England and Wales.

The Association is administered by a Council comprising those elected by and taken from the membership and those occasionally co-opted by the Council. The aim of the Association is to promote and sustain the ancient Office of the High Sheriff in particular in relation to its traditional areas of responsibility. These include lending support to the judiciary and to those concerned with law enforcement and crime reduction and maintaining its links with the Queen’s Remembrancer and the Privy Council. In recent years, High Sheriffs have become closely involved with many voluntary sector organisations working in the whole community and the Association actively supports and encourages the expansion of this role.

Membership of the Association is open to past and present High Sheriffs, to those In Nomination as future High Sheriffs and also to Under Sheriffs. The Association provides advice, support and guidance for those coming into Office as well as organising an annual training seminar. In addition regional meetings covering all areas of England and Wales are held every year to provide a forum for members to share best practice and for those from individual Counties both in Office and In Nomination to meet and to exchange ideas.

Two charities have been adopted by the Association in recent years in response to specific areas of need. These are DebtCred (now operated with Credit Action) and Crimebeat. Many serving High Sheriffs support the work of these two charities during their year of Office and the chairman or senior officer of both charities sit as ex-officio members of Council.

Members of the High Sheriffs’ Association Council


Julian Avery Esq DL  (East Sussex 2004)


The Hon H J H Tollemache  (Gloucestershire 2013)

Honorary Secretary

James Williams  (Under Sheriff, Hertfordshire)

Honorary Treasurer

Nigel Savory DL  (Norfolk 2006)


Colonel Martin Amlot OBE DL   (Merseyside 2012)

Sally Bowie DL  (Leicestershire 2013)

Hugh Burnett OBE DL  (East Sussex 2008)

Elizabeth Hunter  (Herefordshire and Worcestershire 2010)

David Jones Esq DL (Greater London 2013)

J A T Lee Esq OBE (Devon 2013)

Mrs V A Lloyd (West Yorkshire 2013)

Lt Col A S Tuggey CBE DL (Gwent 2015)

Andrew Wells TD (Kent 2005 & Editor of "The High Sheriff")

Juliet Westoll MBE DL (Cumbria 2012)

Barbara Wilding CBE QPM DL (Mid Glamorgan 2011)


The crest of the High Sheriffs' Association of England & Wales

The crest of the High Sheriffs' Association of England & Wales